Last Updated on 16 September 2023

Movies and mini-series based on Roald Dahl’s books and stories

YearTitle of MovieSource
196436 HoursStory “Beware of the Dog”
1967You Only Live TwiceScreenplay
1968Chitty Chitty Bang BangScreenplay
1971Willy Wonka & the Chocolate FactoryBook & Screenplay
1986James and the Giant PeachBased on the novel
1989BFG, TheNovel
1989Danny the Champion of the WorldNovel
1989Breaking PointStory “Beware of the Dog”
1990Witches, TheBased on the book
1990Silent Hunt, TheNovel
1990Magic Finger, TheBook
1990Revolting RhymesBook
1990Dirty BeastsBook
1996James and the Giant PeachBased on the book
1997Enormous Crocodile, TheStory
2002Lamb to the SlaughterStory
2005Charlie and the Chocolate FactoryBook
2009Fantastic Mr. FoxNovel
2013Cheap ThrillsShort Story “Man from the South”
2016BFG, TheBased on the book
2016Revolting RhymesBook
2020Witches, TheBased on the book
2022MatildaBased on the book
2023WonkaBased on characters from the book